The Anglican Church is a community of worshipping Christians, with more than 80 million members around the world.  

In Canada our church is called the Anglican Church of Canada.  In other countries, it is known as the Church of England or Episcopal Church. The Archbishop of Canterbury, the Most Rev. Justin Welby, is the head of the world-wide Anglican Communion.

The Anglican Church is divided into regional groupings called “dioceses”.  Each diocese has its own bishop (or bishops), who have the overall responsibility for the spiritual well-being and administration of the churches within the area. In this region we are part of the Diocese of New Westminster.

The Diocese of New Westminster consists of 66 worshiping and serving communities in mission together across the southwest part of the province of British Columbia from the Sunshine Coast to the west to Hope located 150 kilometres east of the City of Vancouver.

It is divided into six archdeaconries and 11 regional deaneries (four of the Regional Deaneries are currently paired into two groups of two). It was established in 1879. The tenth bishop of New Westminster is the Rt. Rev. John Stephens.



Who We Are

The Diocese of New Westminster has a history of strong contributions – from bishop, clergy and laity – to the life of the wider Anglican Communion. “Who we are” is best reflected in our 2012 re-expression of priorities linked with the 5 Marks of Mission of the Anglican Communion. 

1.      To proclaim the Good News of the Kingdom.

2.      To teach, baptize and nurture new believers.

3.      To respond to human need by loving service. 

4.      To seek to transform unjust structures of society, to challenge violence of every kind and to pursue peace and reconciliation.

5.      To strive to safeguard the integrity of creation and sustain and renew the life of the earth.



As part of the Diocese of New Westminster Our Mission is

The Diocesan mission statement is "Growing communities of faith in Jesus Christ to serve God's mission in the world." By visiting the various pages on this website you will learn about the mission and ministry of the Diocese of New Westminster: compassionate service - locally, regionally, nationally and internationally; Reconciliation; Christian Formation; Community Development and Learning.  



Information from © 2017 Anglican Diocese of New Westminster with permission.